Latest newsPolitics

Three powerful women are re-elected as MP to Represent South Sudan in the East African Legislative Assembly.

Members from the two august houses, SPLM caucus have elected their members to represent South Sudan in the East African Legislative Assembly. Free and fair election for SPLM candidates to EALA was done yesterday in Juba.

SPLM National Secretariat brought together all parliamentarians from SPLM caucus to prepare ahead of the final election in the national parliament. Women’s has dominated three positions out of the five after members of the caucus have satisfied with their worked for the last five years.

Dr. Ann Ito re-elected and was the winner from greater Equatoria region with 110 votes; Dr. Woda Jeremiah Odok re-elected and declared, as the winner from greater Upper Nile region with 78 votes and Gai Deng Nhial was the winner from greater Bahar el Ghazal region with 103 votes.

After serous computation the two position was given to men’s to compute on its. Therefore SPLM parliamentarian caucus re-elected Dr. Garang Ahar and Kim Gai to EALA.

The SPLM interim Secretary General Peter Lam Both says SPLM national will submit five elected names to the national parliament for final election together with members from different political parties.

Vice President Dr. James Wani Igga who also double as deputy Chairman of SPLM encouraged elected members to EALA to fully represent the nation effectively for the benefit of the people of South Sudan. He says South Sudan is facing a lot of challenges as well as floods, Inter-communal conflict and economic situation and that require much effort from members to lobby for supports in the field of health, education and infrastructure.

The Speaker of the national parliament Jemma Nunu Kumbo says SPLM caucus at the national parliament would vote for five members elected not for independence candidates.

/// Press unit office of the Vice President ///

Related Articles

Back to top button