in ,

South Sudan journalists elect their union officials


South Sudan journalists elect their union officials


CGTN’s Juba reporter Patrick Oyet has on Friday been elected the new chairperson of the Union of Journalists of South Sudan (UJOSS), the electoral body announced.

Sapana Abui, the director-general of the Media Authority, who organized the elections said Mr. Oyet garnered 39 votes to clinch the chairmanship of the institution, beating Michael Koma and John Wulu Deng who managed to get six and three votes respectively.

“The members transparently cast their votes and made their choice independently, which is a democratic practice…Patrick Oyet as per the voting results is declared President of UJOSS,” Sapana announced.

48 South Sudanese journalists cast their votes in the electoral process observed by the Media Authority, a government body charged with regulating the press in South Sudan.

Sapana further said other elected members include Majak Daniel, General Secretary and Yangi Justin for Treasury. Majak defeated Ruot George and Ibrahim Awol, while Yangi defeated Akol Madut.

The new leadership of the union will serve in office for five years as per the amended constitution before another election is conducted.

Oliver Modi’s outgoing chairperson has urged the new leadership to continue to promote journalists’ safety, press freedom and protect the union’s constitution.

The journalists’ body was formed in 2004 to champion the rights of journalists and promote press freedom.

Members of the press in the world’s youngest nation have suffered through years of a deteriorating media environment, including censorship, intimidation, violence and even targeted assassinations. Government institutions frequently interfered in editorial matters and called journalists in for questioning.

In April, Reporters Without Borders released the 2021 World Press Freedom Index. South Sudan ranked number 139 out of 180 countries, dropping one spot from last year’s ranking of 138.

Via Radiotamjuz


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings

Over 180 SPLM officials abandoned Kiir and join Dr Riek Machar movement. 

UN extends South Sudan arms embargo for another year